earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Fog on the Tarn

No alarms were set last night and I fully intended to let myself sleep for as long as the body wanted ... but, without the aid of any sun streaming in through the window, I woke quite abruptly at 7am, to the sight of a real pea-souper of a fog outside. My blip senses were on full alert once again! There was a time when that would have been a cue to turn over and get back to sleep, but now it has the opposite effect. I've been looking forward to this kind of fog all winter!

I'd hoped to be able to climb above it on the moor, but although I got quite close to the top of the cloud layer, and could see blue sky and a bright sun above me, I was never able to clear the mist. At least it made for warm running, despite not being able to see very far. I took some quite atmospheric shots on the top of the moor, but in the end I have to run with this one, taken at the Lower Tarn, a place with which many of you will be quite familiar by now.

There were very few people about, and there was an eerie silence to the dead still, but heavily laden moist air. The moor usually feels removed from the 'real' world, but today it felt divorced from that reality completely. I was running in a world in its own time and space. The fog was so thick that I actually lost the normal path coming down from the top and soon got quite disoriented. For a short while I thought I had discovered a hidden valley I'd not known about ... but then recognised it as a familiar spot, just not in the place I expected!

Since then I have had to be working on an issue which needs to be sorted for Monday. The incentive is that if I get it finished tonight I'll be able to treat myself to a day out on the bike tomorrow. And the weather forecast looks fantastic.

PS Added a bit to the write-up for yesterday's Magical Light Tree to describe the experience of finding that shot so late in the day. It never ceases to amaze me how these blips arrive in the unlikeliest of circumstances.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.