A Natural Mirth

By captaincharisma

8

I had some fun playing with light, and decided that this was the best shot of the bunch that I took, I'll probably put the rest up on Flickr soon.

Anyway....

The Number 8


8 is one of the numbers in the Fibonacci sequence.

In nuclear physics, 8 is the second magic number.

As of 2006, there are 8 planets in our Solar System

8 is the atomic number of oxygen.

In rugby union, the only position without an official name is the Number 8 position.

8 is one of the dreaded numbers in the TV show Lost.

Scorpio is the 8th sign of the Zodiac.

8 is a very lucky number in China because it sounds like the Chinese word for 'wealth'.

The Beijing Olympic Games began this year on the 8th August, meaning the official start date will forever be 08.08.08.

Michael Phelps won a record 8 gold medals at those games.

8 Days a Week is one of my favourite Beatles songs.

"#8"
is the stage name of Slipknot vocalist Corey Taylor

There are 8 furlongs in a mile.

8 apparitions appear to Macbeth in Act 4 scene 1 of Shakespeare's Macbeth as representations of the 8 descendants of Banquo (I knew the 3 years I spent studying Macbeth at school would one day come in handy!)

Before political correctness kicked in, in bingo the number 8 was referred to as "One Fat Lady". (It is now "Garden Gate" if anyone is interested)

In cooking there are 8 pinches to a teaspoon.

A quaver is a musical note played for one eighth of the duration of a whole note.

In chess each player has 8 pawns, and the board is an 8x8 square.

In poker, a "dead man's hand" contains two pairs of either aces and eights or jacks and eights.

The M8 motorway runs from from the Edinburgh City Bypass to Langbank in Scotland, and was voted the 2nd worse road in Britain. I'm told by an American friend that the i-8 highway runs from San Diego, California to Casa Grande, Arizona.

In a game of 8-ball pool, the winner is the first to pot the black number 8.

In Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, 8 is a holy number and is considered taboo.

A quick personal fact - the first Manchester United football shirt I owned had "Ince 8" on the back!

This picture is my 48th blip! And yes I will be celebrating 50 in some fashion!

I'm sure there are many others but I thought I'd list these.... Have a good weekend everybody :)

EDIT: I have actually changed the blip as I liked this one better, the old one will appear on Flickr I promise!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.