Llygad y dydd

By Charlalaliz

Decisions

So I started my new job at Chester Zoo today. Thoroughly disappointed to find out that I've been put in one of the kiosks, where I am going to be working on my own most of the time. The kiosk sells hot and fizzy drinks, wrapped ice-creams, crisps etc. There is absolutely no catering involved. It's all retail.

The bloke who got a job in another of the kiosks thinks we got the kiosk jobs because we answered a certain question in the interview well: "Chester Zoo gets very busy with over 15000 in a single day in the summer. How would you cope with long queues?" He had previously worked at the racecourse and was used to queues. I'd worked at one of N.Wales' "top" tourist attractions.

I'm not sure I want the job anymore. When it gets to the summer and the contract on my house in Chester runs out, I will have to commute to the zoo each day (which I'm doing this weekend). Commuting for a job like that doesn't appeal to me. I thought I'd be working in one of the restaurants, with some level of food prep. Obviously not.

On one hand, it's Chester Zoo - who wouldn't want to work there?! The customers are friendly, as are the staff, and the job is easy.
However, if I were to return to the place that I worked last summer, then I would have a lot more spare time (due to not commuting far), I'd gain free access to the company's gym (which would be good for training for my Kilimanjaro trek), and I already know the ins and outs of the job. Pay however is minimum wage.

I don't know what to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.