Fi's Foibles

By purpleicious

flying squirrels

Jack decided to take a rest from being photogenic today. So there I was in the conservatory, bemoaning the fact that my tripod wasn't tall enough to enable me to take a macro shot of the emerging seedlings (I do have a taller tripod, but it's so big we can't find it!); I happened to glance out the window & there was the squirrel, at quite a new angle for me to view him from. He could see me as well as I could see him, & in fact appeared to be almost smiling into the camera during some of his poses - and pose he did: he was like a mannequin strutting up & down the trees, then pausing on the patio & looking up at me as if to say: "Is this angle ok for you?". The camera was working overtime, & I knew I was going to be spoilt for blip choice today; but then, as he was resting on the fence (& I was about to take a break from snapping), his sibling decided to get in on the act, & this happened.

In other news, the tooth site is healing well; fingers crossed I'm not jinxing myself, but this seems to have been the most trouble-free extraction I've ever had (give that dentist a medal!); also, the antibiotics aren't making me feel as grotty as they usually do - in fact, if they weren't doing their job so well, I'd be wondering if they were a placebo. The sun has been shining all day, & not only did I make it into the conservatory (where I was pleased to find that hubby had been remembering to water the seeds during my absence from duty), I also managed to spend some time in the garden; I thought it would be fun to throw a ball around for Jack, but he just plonked himself down on his bum & sat by my side. Lazy little tyke, no wonder he's so podgy.

Things we've learned about Jack today:
He has the extraordinary ability to increase his weight in direct proportion to how stubborn he's feeling about being budged from his current position.
He cocks his head in a most endearing fashion when he hears something he doesn't quite understand: today I rang my aunt & she begged to be introduced to him, so he earnestly bent his head to her voice as she made doggy noises down the telephone at him (oh, if only my camera hadn't been out of reach!); he then romped off & appeared to be trying to relay the conversation to hubby in a series of little 'wuffs'!
In case it wasn't already obvious, he has turned a pair of previously-only-slightly-eccentric people totally daft. Well, that's our excuse, & we're sticking to it: the squirrel thing, & the bird thing (plus the previous feline thing), were merely rehearsals for the grand canine thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.