Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Book group evening

As we had been out of our house for 8 months, and there wasn't enough room to host the book group in the rented flat, it was well overdue my turn to host my Edinburgh book group (as opposed to the Falkirk one who have been missing my dazzling analysis of the latest tome - ha!)

The day didn't start too well. Having done a HUGE shop yesterday, discovered that I'd forgotten the wholemeal flour which was a key ingredient for the homity pies I had planned to make. So it meant a quick scour around to see what ingredients I could switch to make something different. A peruse of vegetarian lasagne recipes on the BBC food website soon came up with the goods. And a delicious lentil lasagne was whipped up. Jolly useful having an iPad in the kitchen.

Which brings me to the book. We'd been reading The Paris Wife by Paula McLain. It's about Ernest Hemingway's first wife, Hadley and their time in Paris in the 1920s.

Whilst I had enjoyed it well enough, it made me yearn to read something that he had written about the same time, and luckily there was reference in the book to "A Moveable Feast" - a series of essays about that very time. I'm enjoying reading that much more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.