Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

Drystane dyke

Here is a blip of the drystane dyke I've been working on and off since November. The coping stones are not ideal and look a bit untidy, but they do the job and hopefully, I'll be able to get some plants growing on the wall to cover all its imperfections.

I spent this afternoon digging over the ground behind the dyke and planting three small apple and two pear trees. These are "patio" trees, and so shouldn't grow too tall. I've still to sort out the border in front of the wall, but this will need to wait for another day.

Went for a lovely run this evening. The city was shrouded in mist, but when I got up into the Pentland Hills, the air was actually warm and the sky was blue until the sun went down. When I returned via the foothills of Allermuir, I was suddenly in thick, cold mist and could have done with a compass bearing to cross the field towards Laverockdale and the underpass. However, I got home safely :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.