Regine

By Regine

Oma'tje

I'm starting to getting doubts about 23 being my lucky number... Yesterday I got a call, saying that my nana was in the hospital after a heart attack and that it was unknown what was going to happen.

It scared the crap out of me. In my mind my grandmother will turn at least a 100 years!

This afternoon I went to the hospital with one of my sisters. Nana was obviously feeling better as she was already the smart mouth she usually is :). When we told her we were shocked yesterday when we heard she was in the hospital she told us: 'You didn't think I was going to die, now did you?', followed by a big smile...

She was behaving like a princess, requesting a different spoon, sugar on her strawberries, wearing some of her usual jewelry and sending back the food she got because she didn't like the taste of it. She's adorable :) and a true princess (at least, that is how I remember her from my childhood)

I'm not ready to say goodbye to her. So, I have decided she's not going anywere :)

In fact, I had quite a pleasant afternoon at the hospital. My aunt and uncle were already at the hospital. During the afternoon my sister, brother-in-law and their kids, and a nephew visited my grandmother. It felt like a small family reunion!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.