Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

A long walk into DC

- Another dreary day in DC with temps in the 50's and very light drizzle. I decided that I would brave the elements and drove to the Pentagon in Virginia, parked my car, and then walked north along the George Washington Parkway which runs paraellel to the Potomac River. I snapped pictures during the walk but most were dull and only worthy of deleting.

This shot was taken just north of the west end of the Memorial Bridge which goes into DC and ends at the Lincoln Memorial. I took several shots in color and in B&W and both looked pretty much the same. Since there were few signs of modern objects (other than the distant car and electric lights along the bridge), I decided I would post process this and try to make it look like it was taken early in the last century. Not sure how I did on this (I'm sure my fellow blippers will let me know), but in any case, I had fun doing this.

After I took this picture, I walked across the bridge, circled around the Lincoln Memorial and then hired a cab to take me back to my car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.