Ausländer in Berlin

By scotinberlin

Three go to Majorca

Airport lounges aren?t the most exciting places in the world for young children. Actually I really don?t understand why airports don?t make any effort to cater for them, but they don?t. So a delay of one hour before boarding the plane certainly pushed our two?s ability to entertain themselves in that environment to the limit. They did do it tremendously well though, although whether their much stricter mother would have agreed with Daddy?s methods is another question.

A further 30 minutes delay before the plane even started the engines had a major benefit for me: after his lunch Samuel slept through most of the flight. This made Daddy?s life very easy as he just had to amuse one Child, who just happens to be a dream traveller that contentedly read her books and played with some toys handed out by Air Berlin.

Arriving in Majorca really did bring me back to reality with a bump. It?s quite amazing that it can take them almost an hour to simply take your bags from the airplane to the baggage collection points. I?m certain there are some flights that take less time!!!! It provided me time to walk what felt like miles to the baggage claim, change my son?s nappy. Watch the kids get bored, get board again and then get really board.

So I wasn?t in the best of moods when I took me a further fifteen minutes just to find the stall where my Taxi driver was waiting. This is partially trying to find it was small children in tow and largely being sent off completely in the wrong direction when I did the very un-manly thing of asking for directions (that?ll teach me!)

After setting off at 9am we finally arrived at our apartment complex at 5:30pm, there was only one problem which one was ours?? Our wonderful direction said ?Low Floor E? but I didn?t know which building and two small children that have been travelling for over eight hours are a lot more interested in the very obvious swimming pools rather than trying to find the less obvious place to sleep.

Low Floor turned out to be ground floor and E turned out to be Flat E on the second block of flats I investigated.

Two significantly happier children emerged from the swimming pools and were placed in front of Dumbo on the PC so daddy could unpack a bit and find his bearings. Then we headed toward the beach in search of some much needed dinner. After a decidedly unsuccessful attempt (how can a hotel with so many staff running round like headless chickens fail to even provide a menu within 15 minuets) we settled on a beach restaurant and some average food before three very tired travellers fell into bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.