Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Dappled

Yeah... it's been a long time since I've posted.

Mostly, I've just been busy. The festival I help to produce simply dominated my time and while I think I took photos most every day along the way, I've just had my mind on too much. Occasionally, I'd look in on some of you, but mostly, I've been absent.

And I was doing so well there for a while.

During my absence, I also screwed up one of my external hard drives on which I stored my most recent (late 2007 to now) photos. I plugged it into a Mac (a loaner) while I was away from home during our festival expecting it to read the drive without any problems. Well, I'm just enough of a geek to get myself into trouble, and that's exactly what I did.

At first, it appeared as though I'd lost all the photos (and whatever other miscellaneous data ~ over 600 GB of data total) on the drive. I took it to a local repair shop and they "recovered" the data. Well, they recovered over 600 GB of data, but it appears as though all of my RAW files are gone. I still don't know if all of the JPGs and TIFFs are there, although it seems as though many of the TIFFs I'd created for jobs and uploading to my ImageKind site are intact. It will take some time to find out as the order and names of most of the files have been changed to nonsensical numbers. It also appears as though multiple (as in three and four and five) copies of many of the images have been restored. I'm guessing that these were cached images.

So... there you go. Oh! And I almost forgot... I also accidentally deleted over two hundred photographs I took at our festival! I thought I'd already copied them to the laptop and didn't (as I usually do) make a double check before cleaning off the flash card.

My mind = mush.

Sigh!

So, I'm back. Maybe. I hope. Thanks to a couple of you who asked about my whereabouts. I appreciate it muchly.

[A couple of backblips, starting [url=http://blipfoto.com/view.php?id=185575&month=9&year=2008]here[/url].]




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.