Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

The First Tadpole

I wasn't really expecting to find this tadpole yet. I looked in the container a couple of hours ago and it wasn't there.

The spawn, which I've kept in a cool place indoors, has developed far quicker than that in the pond. The environment indoors isn't idea so I've been bringing in fresh water from the pond, leaving it to come to room temperature and changing it regularly. Some of the eggs are looking tired so I'll transfer any tadpoles into a clean environment tomorrow in case the eggs are dying. The ones outside in the pond are all healthy.

It's been an enjoyable day. A friend came up from Dorset and we decided to go out to the for lunch. The good weather has brought out almost too many people but a great deal of good humour. It was good to sit in the sunshine people watching and catching up on a couple of months news. If our encounters are becoming less frequent it is not for lack of enthusiasm but we are both often too busy.

After Heather left and a quick trip to Dorking, Mel and I took the dogs for a walk. Mel will be moving in here shortly. Her landlord required her house for his own use and it seems sensible to fill my empty spare room. It's a pity her horse can't come with her...the gardens too small for Monica!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.