Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Eric the half a bee

It always reminds me of the Monty Python song when I see these regular honey bees delving into the salvia for pollen. This one was a bit more out then in and not quite half a bee - oh well, I rather like the salvia (I believe it is salvia ambigens) which grows like there is no tomorrow at my place and has fed every honeybee in Newcastle over the Summer. It is always full of bees.

A one... two-- A one... two... three... four...
Half a bee, philosophically,
Must, ipso facto, half not be.
But half the bee has got to be
Vis a vis, its entity. D'you see?

But can a bee be said to be
Or not to be an entire bee
When half the bee is not a bee
Due to some ancient injury?

Singing...

La dee dee, one two three,
Eric the half a bee.
A B C D E F G,
Eric the half a bee.

Is this wretched demi-bee,
Half-asleep upon my knee,
Some freak from a menagerie?
No! It's Eric the half a bee!

Monty Python

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.