Golden ash

Another back blip...the change to British Summer Time has confused my internal clock...and the repercussions are continuing today!

It was another beautiful spring day, after a cold and foggy start. In the morning Pete and I finally put up the trim round our double glazed windows - which were installed fifteen years ago!! We don't like to rush things :) Floor laying was postponed, because we realised the filled areas needed to be sealed first, which necessitated another trip to the local DIY store. I got distracted and also bought some broad bean and mange toute pea plants, and a couple of thymes to replace some that hadn't survived the winter and regular grazing by chickens.

When we got back Pete decided to cut down a rose that we'd trained on our back wall. It was originally bought for my Mum, and while it had rather attractive single creamy-yellow flowers late in the summer, it had proved too vigorous for the allotted space and also had the most vicious thorns imaginable. So now it's gone, and we are training a Wisteria and Akebia into the space, which should be a lot easier to manage.

The rest of the afternoon was spent gardening and helping Alex with some of his assignments, and before I knew it, it was 6.30pm. I took the dogs for an evening walk, but the peace of my river was shattered by the large number of people out making the most of the fine weather. Although it seems curmudgeonly, there's a bit of me that actually prefers the winter, when the only people I meet are other dog-walkers, joggers and fishermen! I'll just have to get out early in the morning instead...

I took several pictures of the evening sun over the river, but for a change I decided to go with this rather soft image of ash flowering, bathed in the warm evening light, which seemed to fit with the overall feel of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.