wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Civilisation

Another day, another carpark shot. This time the iPhone HDR doovey whatsit was called into play, with a bit of saturation fiddling for added effect (although less than you may think).

I spent much of my day doing things but I'm not entirely sure what. I got a lecture listened to, out of the two + assignment that was going to get done, but I don't think it was entirely unproductive. I'm trying to work out if I'm about to get sick - many of those little symptoms, but none of the normal big ones. Oh well, we'll see in a couple of days.

Went and saw The Hunger Games tonight. I read the books a couple of weeks ago, and I have to say the movie was above average. It wasn't incredible, but it captured and built on the tension of the books, and used the plot well. There were moments that really reminded me of The Truman Show, those moments showing all the engrossed viewers, and I still reckon it's better to compare the books to Tomorrow When the War Began than Twilight, but I suppose that only really works in Australia. Not everyone was as I envisaged them, some where younger, some a little too good looking, some a little too well fed, but I felt it captured the futuristic feel far better than the books. In them I was always surprised when they turned on a light, or had a video camera, but here technology has moved on and been retained, while still in an almost post-apocalyptic world.

My viewing enjoyment was spoiled somewhat by the gaggle behind us, who would wait until the quiet parts then rustle their packets as loudly as possible. And not even in that 'I'm trying to open this slowly and quietly' way, just 'I'm going to have a jolly good dig around for the perfect jube. And another. Oh and another.' But that's what you get when you go to a crowded cinema. There were some great moments of community too though, collective 'awwwwww's of pity went through at particular scenes, which made my friend almost lose it.

This feels like one of those reviews you write at school for a show you didn't like, 'well, the ushers were really friendly, and uh, the curtains opened smoothly...', but honestly, I did really enjoy the film. It kept my attention, it made me tear up a little, tense up a lot, and even smile occasionally. There was implicit violence, without too much gore, lots of shaky camera, and some impressive hair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.