(Un)clouded yellow

After the excitements of the weekend, it was back to work this morning followed by a break for lunch in the garden. One of the joys of having an untidy, rather weedy garden is that I found some wild rocket growing to add to the slices of mortadella with pistachio and coriander seeds I'd bought in the village shop to make our sandwiches. And we found enough wild asparagus for our first course tonight as well.

I think this butterfly is a Clouded Yellow* but if anyone who knows more than I do about butterflies (that is, most people) can identify it I'd be glad to hear confirmation of this or otherwise. They're more shy than the Cabbage whites and other varieties, so I was glad that I had my camera with me today as I was chasing this one.

* Edit: Ceridwen in her comment below has identified it as a Brimstone butterfly.

Thanks for all the encouragement yesterday when I was disappointed with my phone camera. I've realised that I was comparing the shots I took with those I can take with my camera and I shouldn't have done because a phone camera and a DSLR are two very different things. As Barrioboy reminded me in his comment yesterday, partly by luck and partly by design my lifestyle means that I can almost always have my camera with me without worrying about security and working at home means that it's easy for me to upload from it when I want to. And today in the garden I realised again just how lucky I am. I'll use the phone occasionally, but only when I have to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.