Fun in the Fens

By Jimbofin

What isn't there

I have become very conscious that those things you don't take photos of because "they will always be there tomorrow" often aren't. For instance outside the village baptist chapel there was a sign painted board with the times of services and such like written on it. Not fascinating, but it gave a sense of atmosphere. Gone. Then there are the anglers and other with an interesting sense of landscaping, which means that every so often a walk to the lake or the river reveals a favourite tree or bush has been cleared.

Behind this fence post was, until last week, a fine fallen tree wreathed with a magnificent ivy. I spent ages trying to get the photo I wanted of it. I kept getting fooled by the shape the cut face of the trunk made so that it always looked like I'd taken the photo at a funny angle.

Last Friday I found it chopped into logs.

Then again there are things here that shouldn't be. Can you spot the toy poodle that I didn't realise was in the frame?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.