Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Frog and spawn

Overdid it in the garden a bit today and strained my shoulder. I hope it's right for our upcoming fishing trip. I had one or two nice flower picks but I was conscious this was probably the last chance to get a picture of some frogs and spawn in our pond. The first spawn appears almost always around the the 15th of March and that was the case this year.

Usually they have one or two mass love-ins and it's all over but the spawn this year has appeared in dribs and drabs. I thought they had finished but heard them again last night and a few remained around today presumably to fertilise the eggs. I don't think there'll be any more. I'll lift the spawn out and put it in a zinc bath to give the tadpoles a chance otherwise the goldfish will have them. I have separate container for the newts.

Having said that, the heron will come and get some of the goldfish. Sadly it will be the gold ones that show up. It can't see the black ones so well.

I had a devil of a job getting this picture with lots of out-of-focus shots. And the few that were in focus had a bit of reed that looked to be poking up the frog's nose. It didn't bother the frog but it sure as hell bothered me...oh well. I did some flowers too but I've had plenty of them lately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.