An Obsessive Photographer

By MadDogGiraffe

Yellow Hammer

Well this was a nice surprise, I popped out to eat my sandwiches in a near by farmer field I often frequent with my camera and came across a small group of Yellow Hammers. I've never seen one this close up, they were not bothered by my as long as I stayed in the car.

The Plan is to pop back there next weekend with my pop up hide and see if I can get a better shot.

These birds are on the RSPB's Red list. Red is the highest conservation priority, with species needing urgent action.

Red list criteria

Globally threatened
Historical population decline in UK during 1800-1995
Severe (at least 50%) decline in UK breeding population over last 25 years, or longer-term period (the entire period used for assessments since the first BoCC review, starting in 1969).
Severe (at least 50%) contraction of UK breeding range over last 25 years, or the longer-term period

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.