Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

"The fashion police would just like a word...

I went through Kinlochewe on my way home, and realised that the 'Bealach na Ba Challenge' for cyclists was drawing to a close. I was investigating a link for you to this event, and I especially liked this cyclist's account. He wrote it about the 2006 event, which was filmed for the BBC with Dougie Vipond. One of my pupils, Conal, is shown in the 1st. photo playing the cyclists off, and being filmed by the Beeb. My friend Katie Wylie won the women's race that year, and she is nearest the camera in the next photo.

It was a great atmosphere in the village.

I went into the village hall to look for a friend, and the first thing that struck me was the rich aroma - a kind of heady mix of deep heat, sweaty lycra and bean soup. Knackered they were, but extremely chuffed with what they had achieved, and quite rightly so.

I was sorely tempted to take a shot of the half naked man getting a rub down while his pals sat and ate fairy cakes at the next table. However, I didn't want to get a reputation - especially since some of my pupils were already giving me funny looks...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.