An Invincible Summer.....

By TheFlipFlopper

Two for the price of one!!!

I gave blood this morning, but it did not go well.

I'm not sure if it was the nurse or the needle or my arm but something went wrong. All seemed normal, the usual prep had been carried out and the "slight scratch" was about to take place.....but it hurt a hell of a lot more than was supposed to!

She wiggled it about but nothing came out (blood that is). I usually watch the pin go in but it hurt so much I had to turn away. She called her colleague who also did some squeezing and poking but she too came to the initial conclusion that nothing was coming out!

My reeling with pain was a dead give away that things were not right haha!

Then a third nurse came over to help; the most senior nurse I think, she deduced that my vein was clearly visible and the needle had gone in correctly, but for some reason there just wasn't a flow of blood coming through.....all the while, my original nurse held my hand and the second nurse stroked my arm.....and I'm not usually such a woose but I will admit that my eyes did water ;)

I'm not sure what the other donatees were doing whilst all the nurses were tending to me haha!

Anyway, the giant needle was pulled out and I was worried that I might not be able to donate, but after 10 minutes, paper work was re-done and we tried again with my other arm. This time it was all over in a flash.....I have no idea what the issue was but I hope never to come across it again.

After I was given my complimentary drink and biscuit, my dear friends and I decided that only a fry up would help me recover from the trauma and that a cup of tea would ensure full blood cell regeneration.

It did the trick ;)

And if the drama does not put you off and you fancy maybe saving a life, why not give blood?
Call 0300 123 23 23 (24 hours) to make an appointment.....and afterwards you too can treat yourself to the joys of a big breakfast or even a movie.....which I did too.

I unwillingly went to see 21 Jump Street, and as a fan of the original I really didn't see the point of this remake, but it was hilarious, Jonah Hill did a grand job co-writing this little tickler and it was a nice touch to see the three originals make an appearance.

I digress.....please give blood, if you can. Thank you x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.