Today's Special

By Connections

Looks Odd, Tastes Great!

We had lunch with a friend at The Copper Hog today, and I was intrigued by the menu description of this Smoked Salmon Tartine, which had, in addition to the salmon and the fresh roll, fresh grapefruit, avocado, and shredded golden beets.

Since I like all of those things on their own, I didn't think that I had anything to lose by trying this new sandwich, and the first bite proved that my instincts were correct. The textures and flavors were delicious together, and the soft gold, pink, and green colors enhanced the eating experience.

It's a lovely combination for spring, particularly when accompanied by a glass of apricot cider from Tieton Cider Works in eastern Washington. The housemade fries/chips were great, too!

Tomorrow (Weds.) I'll be away from home from 9:20am until about 5pm, having several new experiences. I didn't want to monopolize our 2003 "good" car all day, so I'll walk about half a mile to catch the once-an-hour bus downtown, try out a "Silver Sneakers Cardio Circuit" class at the Y, meet a friend for lunch at a nearby Mexican restuarant, then take another bus from downtown to Fairhaven, where I do my Gentle Yoga II class on Wednesday afternoon.

Phil will pick me up after class, and we'll head for home to enjoy the company of our son-in-law for supper and providing a break in his drive home from a business trip in Vancouver. There's a good chance that I'll also be showing a prospective landscaper around our overgrown front garden after supper, as we need someone to sort it out so I can then maintain the garden in a reasonable amount of time.

As Phil's dad liked to say, "It's all go!" And it's all good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.