MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Stumped

Not as in English cricket in Sri Lanka.
A trip to see the physio first thing after being told everything is healing nicely I decided to see how I coped with a small hill and so walked up St Catherine's Hill in preparation for a few days in Brecon. A bit of history:
St. Catherine's Hill is an Iron Age Hill Fort of circular plan. A medieval chapel dedicated to St. Catherine on top of the hill is first mentioned in 1268 when we are told that a violent wind in Winchester overturned trees, and laid low houses and churches, with the bell turret of St. Catherine.
What I love in the notes about the hill is a bit that says: "The chapel now lies under the distinctive clump of trees, locally called The Clump" well you can't say the locals don't come up with unusual names.
I took some nice views but I am still not happy with landscapes, a couple of shots of a dead tree with the blue sky behind it and some shots of a young cow that came to investigate me as I was taking its photo.
However, being this close up of the roots system from a long fallen tree (probably not 1268, above). I love the colours and textures and besides it was Adam's favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.