The view from here

By cathintheattic

The studio

Another photo from my phone today as my camera is in there, in the picture, in the makeshift studio (which is usually the role play house). It is the final session photographing and lighting their stories, characters and settings.

I love working with small children and big cameras and my favourite part of the recent sessions has been the point at which I tell them I am leaving them to go for a drink/sort something out/have a little rest and leave them with the task of getting at least 6 good photos. They have to organise themselves, make decisions and achieve an objective - some manage it, some don't, some just stand and stare and are still standing and staring when I return and some fight and sulk.

This group did particularly well, the main tension here was that they were mostly leaders and everyone wanted to be in charge (I know that feeling). I don't have very long with them (about half an hour at the most with each group) and I would love to just leave them with the camera for a day and see what happens.

Maybe next term!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.