Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Lane Cove river from Cunningham's Reach

I was in Sydney today and have just got back to Newcastle and am officially cream crackered.

I had dinner with mum and she suggested I walk the dogs at Cunningham's reach which is a small parkland at one end of Figtree Bridge. This bridge crosses the Lane Cove river and joins Linley Point to Hunters Hill. There wasn't a park there when I was growing up and I wonder who Cunningham was.

The river was my playground as a kid. I was given a small rowing boat and spent just about all my free time rowing it up and down the river. It was that or clambering over the local tip (now Blackman Oval) looking for treasures, or playing in the creeks or walking through the bush playing games. The dinghy was left tied up at the bottom of the bushland between the family home and the river but it was always a chore to carry the oars up the hill, probably because we had exhausted ourselves rowing all day. There was a lot of the river that was explored and my parents never worried about us, we just had to be back before dark. The dinghy never came to any grief either from human intervention, tides or bad weather.

This view is looking easterly. Linley Point is to the left and Hunters Hill is to the right. Much more up market suburbs than Lane Cove I might add.

Thanks to everyone who left comments and so on on yesterday's blip and wishing me well for my coronation this morning. I don't feel much like a princess but it all went off well. I am off to bed but will be catching up tomorrow (or is it today now)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.