Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Tomek

Having finally, successfully made it to Waterloo Station this morning (via bus and Shank's pony), I walked back into Town via the South Bank.

I stopped briefly to watch the Merrigo-round being taken down, amused by the thick woollen socks placed over the horses hooves to protect them in transit.

Then I spotted Tomek sitting on a wall putting on his greasepaint.

For those of you who don't know, there are a lot of street performers who dress up and line the pathway from the Eye to the Hayward. I don't generally photograph them as they are just there for the tourists, however Tomek was hiding in the wings getting ready and therefore in my books fair game.

He was quite friendly, although talking to him proved tricky as he spoke very little English. However there was enough universal sign language between us to get a portrait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.