MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Developing Theme: Transportation

Alright, so this isn't exactly COMMON. Not sure about the REST of Brazil, but I would guess less than 0.1% of the population of Vitoria actually uses horses for stuff. This guy rides through the neighborhood every morning- I was just lucky enough to catch him as I was headed out the door. This old horse totes around a cart, but I'm not sure if the guy using the horse sells stuff or just transports stuff.

Anyway, it got me thinking about what would happen in a world without oil. What would we do? All those cars, mini-truck things, and motorcycles clogging up the streets around here... useless! Maybe using animals for some of the local things... or... bicycles... would be a great way to go. The nice news is that Vitoria has a lot of wide sidewalks and a handful of bike lanes. I wouldn't go so far as to say it's SAFE for cyclists, but I wouldn't say that about most places. (Even in Copenhagen, it's dangerous! But more because of other cyclists... not so much the cars.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.