The Wren

By TheWren

I is for ..........intriguing

... like the unusual flower known as fritillaria meleagris..

The species name is derived from the Latin, fritillus, which means a dicebox as the spotted markings on the flowers suggest a dice-board. The word meleagris means 'spotted like a guinea fowl' but other more common names include that of Snake's Head Fritillary, as the flower has also a really strong resemblance to the markings on a snake, and Leper Lily as its shape resembles the bell that lepers used to carry around with them. It isn't a very common flower in gardens and it appears quite fragile with its early leaves looking very similar to grass. I have been guilty of lifting several in the past, mistaking them for weeds. It is only when I have spotted the tiny white bulb that I have realised my mistake and quickly replanted it!

I hadn't noticed this one at all until today when I was weeding beneath the pink camellia, which is still flowering profusely. There were just two of them, their heads just bobbing shyly underneath the bush. I'm not sure if they multiply like other bulbs in the fullness of time - I shall just have to wait and see. Now that it is recorded in my blip journal I will be prompted to look for them again next year.

The day has passed really well with yoga in the morning helping to ease out my limbs following an unusual excess of gardening. Although it was still sunny and the temperature continued to maintain the incredible level of the past few days, there was a noticeable chill wind coming from the east as the dogs and I crossed the moor. Maybe things are on the turn!

I have also been enjoying the night sky this month. The last couple of nights in particular have been so crystal clear that the sight of the crescent moon enjoying the proximity of the satellites Venus and Jupiter has been simply awesome. This is the one time when I regret not having a superior zoom on my wee camera. Perhaps it is, however, sufficient to be able to stand out in the garden and watch in silent awe.

Whenever I watch a special lunar event like this I always feel particularly connected to family and friends wherever they are in the world (and that now includes my blip friendships) as they can also look at the same moon :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.