Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Seeds of inspiration

'A man should write for all he is worth, about whatever state he is in at the time, however little he knows about it. You only stumble on poetic truth in the dark, in the light it is easy to step around it.'

J Kavanagh


This is the quote we began our first day at college with last week and today it was projected onto the wall of the lecture theatre again. It took me by surprise as I wasn't expecting to begin a photography course with a quote from a poet. As soon as I read it and listened to one of my tutors speaking I knew I was in the right place. Every time I stumble I will try to notch it up as something learnt and when I feel that my knowledge is limited, I'll try as much as I can to expand it.

Tucking up Rowan in bed this evening she told me that she has her best ideas in the dark, but often can't remember them in the morning. They just drift away. Little seeds of inspiration waiting to be caught in the dark and made real.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.