Canary chronicles

By Shirleemoss

And let there be red

Canary Wharf is very corporate (apart from the council estate which we try and ignore) and full of new apartment buildings. Some of them try and be a bit creative and zany (one nearby has these weird wing flaps, another an enormous water feature of circulating water like what you see when it goes down the drain, and another a crazy light display most nights) but inside they are all white modern corporate and clinical. Mine is no exception - white walls, cream curtains, oatmeal carpet, oatmeal rugs etc etc. Stark and dull. So I've been gradually building up a bit of colour and this week my new red rug finally arrived! Out went the oatmeal!
You can see all the red in this picture. Still not enough colour for my taste - I'm thinking of painting the walls green. I don't believe that has ever been done before in Canary Wharf. I'll probably have to import the paint from Farnham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.