days in lives

By euterpefoto

Blind leading the sighted?

Every Wednesday, Abi and I play in an amateur orchestra, and every week, I meet her at the station so we can go for coffee and a girlie natter beforehand. Every day she has encounters with Underground staff helping her to get about. It amazes me the different ways people try to assist blind people, usually pushing them from here to there.

Now I'm not criticizing the TFL staff. They are, 99.99% of the time, brilliant. Apart from the one time they asked a staff member with a fear of dogs to take Abi to her next platform!

This picture however, is of a typical struggle I often see (and experience with Abi's boyf, Thuy) of "I'll just take you over here"
"no I'd rather go over here"
"but over here is better"
"but I'd rather go this way"

Blind people can be awfully strong willed at times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.