Houses of Wilmington #13

William French House (1851)

This house on 107 South 4th Street is just next door to the George French House. William was George's son, who graduated from Wake Forest College, and then joined his father's business. He also became president of the Wilmington Cotton Exchange. At the entrance of the driveway, a portion of the old carriage-way remains, with Belgian paving block and stone set in brick.

The front steps are totally covered with Creeping Fig Vine.

As an aside, the spring foliage continues to grow and is making it more difficult to capture good images of the houses, but there are many more to come, so I will do the best I can.

Music? I noticed that today marks the birthday of a fine jazz pianist from Catalonia. I saw Tete Montoliu (1933-1997) play in the 1960's at a club called the Jazz Cave (I think) in Barcelona. To my surprise, the drummer (Billy Brooks) was a friend that I had lost contact with. Here is Tete from that era. Billy was also on the recording.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.