Wrapped up in books - Belle and Sebastien

Ok, only one book, but it is a cracking book if you're looking for any new photographic inspiration I'd recommend it highly.

I had a really frustrating day at my TQFE today. A topic for my final essay which I'd proposed to my lecturer a whole month (and two sessions) ago, which they didn't have any problem with at the time, apparently now isn't suitable, as it doesn't meet a certain requirement which was neither properly clarified nor picked up when I initially proposed my subject. Had they told me this a month ago then I could have looked for ways to amend or work round the issues to do an essay I could really engage with. As it stands I'm not convinced I have the time and will have to switch to something I really don't connect as much with and do a rush job on it at that.

On speaking to a colleague it turns out he and one of his class mates went through the exact same experience with the same lecturer two years ago. They put in a formal complaint and the lecturer's excuse was that it was the first year of delivering that topic and they would act on the feedback for subsequent classes to ensure there was no repeat. Apparently that hasn't happened. When they realised several of us had issues based around the same thing they first claimed it was because we had asked for the essay structure too early, then said it may be because there was uncertainty as to when the class was due to potential strike action today which didn't happen. As far as I can see neither is the case and the problem is that instructions simply weren't clear at the start.

It has soured my whole experience of TQFE and to be honest I care very little about the rest of the process now, it's going to be very hard for me to put more than the minimum required effort in to get through it now.

Anyway, enough grumbling, here's today's song.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.