This life thing...

By mrpin

God Save the Queen

I've had an ongoing affair with HM for a while now, its been pretty full on since 2002 when I first made a portrait of her out of tea bags for my degree show at Loughborough University. I'd been painting pictures of the Falklands War using tea as a medium which was symbolic of an empire, nation and a power.

I never realised how making these pieces would in some way alter the course of my life and lead me to experiences I may not have had otherwise - letters from her household and a mention in Trivial Pursuit etc. This week I received an email with renewed interest in it all. Its been 10 years since I started, and with it being a big year for her and London it's quite exciting what possibilities could lie ahead. She's been good to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.