Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Perfect pillow

In obedience to ministerial diktats, ie needing petrol, I went out early and blipped several things, including a very sculptural dead tree and a crow falling out of a living one. Silly bird was pratting about on a branch, lost his balance and fell off backwards and I caught him in mid air looking rather surprised!

However, in the end I thought this lovely sleeping swan had more visual impact. What a perfect pillow to carry around with you! The feathers are so beautiful and he looks so comfortable. And, yes, I think this is the male, keeping the eggs warm. He's sleeping on the humpy nest which they've built up over a foot above the water. It's not the same swan I blipped before, but half of the pair nesting by the old packhorse bridge over the Itchen Navigation.

Wish this wonderful weather would go on for ever and I'm feeling sad for those of you who've already lost it! Apart from anything else, it makes blipping so much more rewarding :0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.