Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Polar Exploration

Today is widely regarded as the the day that Captain Scott probably perished in the Antarctic in 1912.

I was brought up on the story of Scott and Amundsen, partly because my father went to the Antarctic in the mid 1950s. I still have my copy of the 1963 Ladybird book "Captain Scott: an adventure in history". I also have the set of John Player cigarette cards called 'Polar Exploration' (2nd series) that were issued in 1916 and which were collected by my grandfather.

Having been subject to much critical commentary and the heroic failure tag its been good to see a re-evaluation of the scientific achievements of the Terra Nova expedition in recent years.

No more blips for a few days. I'm off on a little adventure of my own in north Wales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.