What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Singing Dunnock

Please view large

The Dunnock is described as a LBJ (little brown job) by many, but they're a great little bird. This one perched in a bush just outside my hide this evening, and with an extension tube on my 400mm lens, I just managed to get him in focus. The leaves over his feathers and legs were unavoidable, but at least show he's not simply a bird on a stick! I was really pleased with the way the light is shining through his gape, and the feather detail around the beak and eye.

The black & white workshop finishes tonight, feeling tired, but satisfied that I have some guests with better knowledge of how to approach B&W work. Will try to grab some time to comment later. Tomorrow, I'm out all day (and evening) - off to Newcastle to see Diversity at the Metro centre. So will have to back-blip on Saturday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.