Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Bubble Girls

I had my Speed Awareness course today. Got caught a few weeks ago doing 34mph in a 30mph zone. I was late for swimming (as usual!) and was driving just a tiny bit too fast (as usual) and although I'd taken my foot of the accelerator I didn't slow down enough before I caught sight of the police van.
Up until today I've been saying how ridiculous it it; how 4mph makes no difference at all and the limit starts too far outside the village and a million other indignant thoughts.
I was relieved to be offered the course - much better than 3 points on my - hitherto clean - licence and the insurance implications. I just thought I'd go, nod and smile and leave after I'd served my four hours.
But I must say that the course was very effective. Interesting and sobering.
The difference that 4mph makes is the difference between my girls living or dying if someone hits them.
And it wasn't about beating you over the head with horrifying statistics it was full of really interesting geeky stuff about roadsigns, car engineering and hazard perception.
I'm surprised to say I enjoyed it. And I genuinely think it'll change my driving habits. And that has to be a good thing!!
When I got home I found that my dad had done an amazing job clearing the garden for us. Absolutely transformed it, yay!!!
So we set off Miss E's fabulous new bubble machine and had some fun chasing millions of beautiful bubbles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.