horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Out of the Saddle

Effort against the wind
Lowest gear spin
Fighting against the sin
That is the Bealach Mor

Faced with evil climbs
Passing gradient signs
For flat land everyone pines
That's the Bealach Mor

-------------------------

Saturday 6th September will go down in history as the hardest ride I've ever suffered. And I was slow. I was okay until around the 55 mile point and my head went, faced with a constant headwind, and no respite in sight.

But I got in (and over, the Bealach Na-Ba pass). And after initially deciding 'never again' I'm already plotting on heading back next year and actually getting the time I wanted this year.

But next year I might actually do some training over and above my daily commute.

It would probably help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.