Porty Girl!!!

By portyg

the 4 towers

Went to an activist (union) meeting at the royal infirmary today. Sat upstairs in the bus for a change. The sun was toasting me. I was coat free, but had my gloves in my bag just in case. Incase what you may ask?

I worked there for 2 years and never noticed how many towerblocks there were close by. I suppose I used to rush out to catch bus, dodging the visitors cars (visiting finishes just as staff finish) rushing to beat the traffic.

It always surprises me how busy the car parks are even when they used to be charged £10 if the stay was longer than 6hours. I think its a bit cheaper now. Despite all the spaces in several car parks within hospital grounds, one colleague attempted and failed, 3 times to find a disabled car space to park in, and ended up going home. She works there and often has difficulty as non disabled people sometimes use the spaces.She cannot walk any distance and arrives at work earlier than expected so that she can get in.

I felt some sympathy with the bus driver - I know they dont always deserve it, but his one did. A large male non educated delinquent, tried to board the bus using a female travel card; the driver queried it and confiscated it. The ned effed and c'eed etc, then produced a valid day ticket, and demanded the pass back saying it was his sister's - no obvious family resemblance. Then he was getting verbally assaulted by 3 women of varying ages who argued with him about the length of time they had waited. He explained that he was 32 minutes late due to inibiquitous roadworks that are plaguing the city, coupled with a road accident that closed the road - they were still not happy. He remained polite, but when they were seated I could see him muttering under his breath- don't blame him. He got onto radio to ask what was going to happen as he was so late. He should have been having his dinner at that point. He was told he'd get the time back, but that doesn't help when you are feeling hungry, pressured and undervalued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.