A year in the Liefe of

By LainieC

"I Dreamed a Dream!"

It was 29th March, Easter Weekend ,thirty seven 'short 'years ago.The sun was shining but there was a chill wind blowing.The daffodills in the garden suddenly burst into bloom, just for us, or so it seemed.It was our' special day.' We have been celebrating our Blessings ever since.
I intended to take a photo of the many daffs growing in their droves by the roadside round the area because they have always held some significance for us but had a last minute change of plan.Not the best of pictures, but it seems very fitting after the events of yesterday.
As part of our anniversary celebrations, Bill had booked to take me for an Italien meal in Newcastle, before going to see the new musical, 'I Dreamed a Dream' about the life of Susan Boyle.
The Theatre Royal, which celebrated its 175th Anniversary just last month, had had a complete revamp.The decor had been restored it to its former glory and beyond.Freshly painted , with new seating, fresh drapes, and these amazing ceilings, it was certainly breathtaking. What an outstanding building this is.Took a few quick shots of our surroundings before going into the show.(which was a full house.)
All was well until about twenty minutes before the end of the show.Elaine Smith,(the actress who played the part of Rab C Nesbitt's wife)carried her role as Susan perfectly and sang as if she had been doing it all of her life.It was almost time for Susan Boyle to make her guest appearance, when for me, it all went pear shaped.
I began to feel sickly and beads of sweat were breaking out on my brow.''A few deep breaths Lainie will see you through to the end!'' I told myself.Unfortunately, it was not to be the case.I had to excuse myself. I stood up , managed to squeeze past the couple on the other side of us and that's as much as I remember.Next thing I know, I was being man handled by three or four strong hunks of men out of the row and into the aisle.
First aid was administered by the most lovely of guys called Dave, before handing me over to the paramedics who had arrived on the scene.An hour later, I had been thoroughly checked out and opted to return home because I knew mum would be wondering where we were.
Looking through my pics today, this one is a reminder of opening my eyes after the fall. I thought I had indeed died and gone to heaven, or maybe I was just 'dreaming the dream.'
Such a pity I never actually got to see the star herself perform and that I spoilt what would have been a 'perfect day' for us.(they sang this most beautifully in the show) I really do put poor hubby through the mill but he remains my standing stone.''Where would I be without him''I ask myself.
Sorry for the late delivery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.