Here we go again!

By MI

Grand Palais (Spring)

This was taken on my way to a talk this afternoon at the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). The weather was perfect again and lots of people were enjoying the green space in front of Les Invalides, facing the Grand Palais. The talk, by David Walker (U of Sheffield) was about representations of consumerism in four late 19th c French novels. It gave me some new ideas for my lectures on Zola's Au bonheur des dames.

I watched Ch's class roller blade this morning around the recess yard. She brought home a great fable that she wrote at school about a pig and a bumble bee. It rhymes and uses passé simple. I was pretty impressed. She seems to be coming down with a cold tonight, unfortunately.

Th had a great day. She is so happy here, really enjoying her classmates and her school. We had a talk tonight about leaving and how hard that is going to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.