investigations of a dag

By kasty

the T junction

in my bag are two envelopes. Two doors; a T junction. One contains confirmation that I have gained enough of a bonus (just about) to pay my fees if I get into the uni . The other is offering me a permanent senior job.

One feels like the escape tunnel, the other a gurney at the end of a long prison sentence. I know the direction to take obviously, but there's this tiny feeling of unpeeling. Like a slither of skin or wallpaper you start to tug and the whole wall comes down.

I feel a shadow of me turn one way and me another. It was a tiny sensation. Microseconds. Then it was lost in an unexpected rush of pride. I've done this. I'm a little bit closer to where I go next. Don't think I realised how strange it would feel to tick off parts of a plan I used to think was completely beyond me. So many people would be perfectly happy with the job, what am I doing? how will I live? Not sure yet where I will live or how I will eat (I'm not a banker!! this was a fairly moderate bonus). I sat in the park at lunchtime to calm down. I know this is the beginning of the end.

Just the application decision to go (every knuckle and ligament plaited in hope)

It will all work out

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.