a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Smallest house in Sydney

Let me be precise here.

In recent years the chronic shortage of housing in Sydney has led to a spate of development, with laneway infills and people converting garages to residences. There even seems to be a competition as to who has the smallest groovy house in Sydney.

This is not one of those modern redevelopments. This is, as far as I am aware, the oldest smallest house in Sydney. Number 43-and-a-half Edgeware Road is a Mid-Victorian Gothic two storey terrace house that is less than 3 metres wide. I forgot to bring along my tape measure so I used the best technology to hand** and estimated somewhere in the region of 2.7 metres.

And yes, it's heritage listed, as part of a group of (much bigger) Victorian Gothic terraces. This house was clearly the runt of the litter.



** A stick, turned end to end. I then took the stick home, measured it and did the maths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.