LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Stag do...

I've had a lovely afternoon with Dotty doing lunch and a spot of shopping. We'd wandered down to Bon Vivant to buy some Chambord for my holiday week and stumbled across the boys who are here from Bristol (and Bath) for the weekend. Top find! Not every day you find handsome young men sitting around in the street smoking pipes. I love the smell of pipe tobacco, not sure why I like it but I do.

Meet Laurence, Ben and Simon... they're on Ashley's stag do, sitting on the pavement outside Fishers in the City in Thistle Street smoking pipes! The theme is upper crust, obviously, apart from the stag who was dressed as a chav in a shell suit whilst the rest of them looked dapper in bow ties and braces! Brilliant! How civilised? Not that it's likely, but if I ever find myself in the position of getting married, I shall be having a stag do such as this, complete with pipes!

The other thing I noticed today is that our society is seriously lacking in manners! As we wandered along Princes Street, a wee girl walking in front of us threw away her McDonalds cup, without a second thought. I looked at Dotty and she looked at me, equally open mouthed and before I knew it she'd grabbed the cup and ran on after the mum and her daughters. When she politely advised the mum that the little girl had dropped her cup and suggested perhaps she'd like to find a bin for it, she was met with a string of bad language as though Dotty was in the wrong! How rude?!

What has happened to our society to allow that to be acceptable behaviour? Really? I spent the next 20 minutes with my mouth opening and closing whilst shaking my head in disbelief. What are they being taught in school and why aren't some parents more responsible? There's nothing about that incident that I find even close to acceptable. I realise how ancient I'm going to sound now but we'd have got a thick ear in our day if we had even considered dropping litter. It's one of my biggest pet hates!

Still... we giggled a lot and all in all have had a lovely afternoon. This is what weekends are made for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.