View from the croft gate

By Croftcrafts

Fanagmore School

The sun and blue skies came out today so I went over to Fanagmore to get a blip.
This is Fanagmore School and the Whitehouse. It is about 1 1/2 miles from Tarbet and this is the school which my husband's mother and the children here went to. The children walked to school and in the winter time they had to take a peat for the fire. I have a photograph of 1912 and there are 25 pupils in the school with one teacher and three pupil teachers. My husbands mother is in the photo aged 5. The range of pupils was from age 5 till 12 years. They were all in the one room. A room in the Whitehouse used to be the school until they built this one, which when finished was declared open by my husband's grandfather. The school is not used anymore and is a store room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.