wingpig

By wingpig

trouser 'shopping

If anyone has been more than usually unlucky today may I apologise for stealing their good fortune. Some stuff worked at work which meant that I was able to leave with a clear conscience at half past four. Being able to leave work at half past four meant that I was able to pop to the shops. In the space of a mere twenty minutes I found:
- a pair of cheap, comfortable employment-breeches
- a pair of slightly pricey but very well-cut shorts
- a pair of really quite cheap yet still comfortable and roomy shorts of which there were many pairs available in a suitable size in a range of colours meaning that if they work out I can get a couple more pairs for when the first pair run out.

Given that last time I bought some work trousers it took about two weeks' careful consideration (after which I paid more than I like paying for something in which I sit still for seven or more hours each weekday) to buy the second pair I tried on was somewhat surprising. As for the shorts... it's so rare to find a pair of shorts which fit the waist yet leave sufficient room for the buttocks and leg-movement and which also have enough pocket-space for telephone, keys, wallet and hands. To find two pairs in one trip...

Dramatis personae (clockwise in plan from front left):
New cheap shorts (H&M).
Third-favourite shorts ever (Fat Face). Sadly now featuring wear in unfortunate places.
Cycling/running shorts (Endura "Altitude").
General use shorts (Fat Face). Still in good working order.
Slightly shorter than I like shorts from a shop I don't usually shop at where I spotted them on sale for £7.50 a few years ago.
New slightly pricey but very comfortable shorts (O'Neill).

Shoes by Merrel and New Balance. Legs are model's own.

Favourite-ever shorts (1991-2006) were sadly binned last year when they reached the point where they could only be repaired by completely rebuilding them. Second-favourite-ever shorts were thieved in 2004 but are hopefully still out there somewhere. There are a twinned pair of Fat Face shorts in a box somewhere awaiting potential repair for the same problem as third-favourite-ever which is also the reason why I needed new work trousers. I assume that all my legwear dies of the same disease from the manner of my perambulation which is fast but which often involves full pockets which might place additional strain on certain areas.

Seeing as I'm not prepared to slow down I've been trying to carry less stuff in my pocketses. Sadly since getting a bigger camera I have now had to return my wallet to my right thigh pocket. Going to need a bigger bag?

Almost half-way. The rest looks like it might not be that bad after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.