thephotostoryofmylife

By soshanau

Photo 78 #366photos: Blue dress

1 April 2012

Following on from yesterday's object with stories, a photo of my favourite blue dress made by my sister. I found it my drawer of hoarded items. I think I must have been eight or nine when my sister made this for me. She had to make a dress for her sewing class and chose me to make a dress for. Perhaps it was my constant nagging or maybe she took pity on me for having to wear hand-me-downs.

I remember vividly flicking through the pattern books, choosing the dress I wanted. I opted for a shirt dress. And then spending hours choosing the fabric and the right shade of blue.

And I remember wearing it proudly when it was finished, going to on our next door neighbours (who we called Nanny and Grandad) and showing off my new dress. Grandad said I looked very pretty and said it was very well made.

Funny the things you remember. The colour has faded but the memory is still vivid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.