a town called E.

By Eej

The Bold Bird catches the Worm



A while ago I got a tub of mealworms because I thought I'd make some birds happy with it. Turns out I made more squirrels happy with 'm than birds - until I found a way out of that. I now sprinkle a topping of mealworms in the bird bath - they soak for a bit and then excited Robins pop by to fish them all out.
Moving forward with the raised beds today (thank you, sweetie, for helping me out :)) I hoisted the bird bath to a more permanent spot - which is much closer to me and my chair. There was much confusion and a lot of admonishing as this particular Robin was unhappy with the way things were going. It sat on the fence for quite some time yelling at me, which I thought was hilarious, before it found enough boldness (or appetite) to come closer. The little Downy doesn't care where his suet cake hangs, and the Titmice don't care as long as there are peanuts somewhere.

Next step: a wire cutter to get the remaining fencing off, putting together another frame for the second bed and then mass amounts of soil and plants to fill everything. It's going to be so lovely. I think. It should.
Oh, Sundays, if only you could last forever.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.