Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

7 days later... Tadpoles are growing

Christine and I did a quick tour of ponds this evening. There is still no sign of natural spawn to be found here.

Seven days from hatching, the Dundee house tadpoles are doing well and are well ahead in development compared to the ones in the pond. They lost their external gills that made them look more like newt larvae on day 3 and are now swimming so fast I thought I'd fail to get a 1:1 shot through the thick glass of the bowl that is their temporary home.

As tadpoles are vegetarian, I steamed a lettuce leaf an gave it to them as soon as they hatched. I will have to give them another tomorrow and change the water as they have devoured the whole leaf and have almost tripled in size. This is the clearest shot out of more than I'd like to admit!

I'm loving the other micro organisms that are growing along side them. Not only have they multiplied but a number of them have grown. I almost blipped a few this evening. Many of them will be going into the pond tomorrow as I've brought in fresh water this afternoon for them and will change it when I'm certain it has arrived at room temperature.

I'll blip them again next week.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.