Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Tool!

I nice lie-in today (after rather a lot of Stroud Brewery's exceedingly good Budding pale ale last night) followed by a some very, very badly needed work in the back garden. The mini-greenhouse is back up, and contains a few trays of sowings courtesy of the lass.

One of the small vegetable beds was weeded and had a load of lovely goo and yum from last year's tomato pots added. This bugger unfortunately needs a lot of TLC as the slats have warped over the autumn/ winter and three fell off. I'll nick some pallets from work, dismantle them and patch the bed up this week. Not sure what to grow in it this year - possibly something that climbs as the decking bannister is alongside.

The other bed will need significant weeding and a lot of soil-work. I left it alone last year and it is almost all organic matter. Might dig it out, mix with topsoil and start again. It'll be perfect for all types of bean.

Then I set about the Buddleia. It's had two uninterrupted years of an attempt at world domination and it really does need a proper seeing to. It's now half of what it was and I only stopped cutting bits off because I'd run out of room to store the lopped-off branches. These were chopped into either; 1. stuff for shredding, 2. stuff to burn in the house for warmth, and 3. stuff with which to make a nice, dense habitat for the lickle birdies who frequent the bush. It will be tall enough to negate the fucking cat that I lob rocks at, open enough that they can see all around and just right for all sorts of feeders, drinkers and perches. I'll post blips of how it turns out.

Anyway; this pic is of my tray-of-stuff-with-what-I-garden. The onions need to go in very soon, as do the courgettes. The peas can bloody well wait.

The Machete is called Harrison by the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.